There’s something in your hair

Lady Gaga at a Consumer Electronics Show last week in Las Vegas

When this is referred to as just one of your more extreme headpieces… Sweet Jesus…

Confession time: I don’t ‘get’ Lady Gaga. I just don’t.

First let me say that admittedly I’m not a smart man. However… I’ve got numerous university degrees (barely worth the paper they’re printed on), I pay way too much attention to pop culture, and I’d like to think I have an adequate understanding of fame, the human psyche and even how the media can control and/or manipulate information.

But still… can someone give me some kind of explanation that rings true about this woman and who/what she is? Please?

For the record, I don’t mind her music. It’s catchy, well written, melodic for the most part.

I just loathe the cult of celebrity, in this instance particularly when it comes to the ‘character’ she’s built for herself.

People have tried telling me to look at her as simply a construct, a woman who’s been smart enough to create a meticulously planned look, voice and persona. Right. So she’s an attention-whore in an age where we venerate such needy succubi. Says more about this generation than it does Gaga, me thinks.

Or there’s the  “She’s just expressing herself, who she really is, free of societal constraints” theory.

Doesn’t this…

Sexy. Difficult to breathe, but sexy.

Look like a lot of work to express who you really are? On da inside and all?

I give her less than 12 months before people tire of the faux-quirky bullshit once and for all. If that means she focuses more on her music than piss-weird headdresses, I’ll be happy.

I just want to understand.

But until that happens, here’s ‘South Park’s Eric Cartman singing Poker Face.

BPM

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

