A national anthem we could be proud of

Every now and again the old ‘Advance Australia Fair’ vs ‘Waltzing Matilda’ debate gets dusted off for no particularly good reason, and yet somehow you’ve never heard of THIS song being touted as a serious anthem-ic contender.

Until now…

God, we could be the first country to have a disco national anthem with an official YouTube video!

Kudos again to Denis, for forwarding shit so bizarre he knows I won’t be able to ignore it.

From Melbourne to Sydney, from Darwin to Adelay-yaide…

BPM

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A national anthem we could be proud of”

  1. Righteous Schimmelbusch Says:

    I have always believed that the only appropriate disco national anthem for Australia should be Dead Or Alive’s 1985 hit – You spin me round.

    Yeah I, I got to know your name
    Well and I, could trace your private number baby
    All I know is that to me
    You look like you’re lots of fun
    Open up your lovin’ arms
    I want some

    You spin me right round, baby
    right round like a record, baby
    Right round round round.

    I think a CGI effect-laden spinning Australia on a turntable done by LucasFilm, with Carl Cox scratching, would really complete the picture, and take us to the top of ‘countries with cool shit going on – as reflected by their national anthem’

Leave a Reply

