Justin Bieber transcends race, possibly gender too

Just another example of the radical disconnect between me and so many of the other humans…

Word!

Teen heart-throbbity moppet Justin Bieber is reportedly being nominated for a 2010 B.E.T.

For those that don’t know, that’s a Black Entertainment Television Award.

Predictably much of the ‘outrage’ has been about Justin… umm… well… not being black. He’s a long way from black. He’s not even tan. He’s actually the whitest kind of Vanilla there is – Canadian Vanilla.

Not only is Bieby kinda not black, but he doesn’t even pretend to be black, like his idol Justin Timberlake. But, I guess if the black community wants to adopt either Justin, that’s their prerogative.

Me? I feel wayyyyy more offended personally by the fact that he’s seen as some kind of ‘entertaining’. But then I’m not a 14-year-old girl. Not yet, anyways.

I see shit like the shrieking sea of teenage girls at his canceled appearance in Sydney last month, and I can’t even begin to wrap my head around it. Is this what my grandparents felt like when confronted with Beatlemania? Have I finally become my Pop Pop?

Were she born 40-some years later, your Mum would probably like Justin Bieber just as much as you do

The answer, of course, is no. He was a man’s man, who fought overseas, was shot and captured as a POW during World War II, only to return home, marry, and raise several children in difficult economic circumstances. Whereas I spend my days prattling on about 16-year-old androgynous swoony crooner’s.

Sorry Pop.

Nevertheless… if THIS is your idea of entertaining:

Then it’s probably best we part ways before someone gets hurt.

BPM

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

