God bless you, Stephen King

One of my literary idols, Stephen King, wrote an article this week for the website The Daily Beast simply entitled ‘Tax Me, For F@%&’s Sake!’

I’d encourage anyone interested in the ongoing 1% / 99% debate in the States to have a read.

But for those of who can’t be bothered to click your mouse once, the crux of Sir Stevie’s argument (that the excessively wealthy can well afford to pay much, much more tax) can pretty much be encapsulated by this one particular purple piece of prose:

“The majority would rather douse their dicks with lighter fluid, strike a match, and dance around singing “Disco Inferno” than pay one more cent in taxes to Uncle Sugar”.

 You can agree with the guy’s politics… or you can disagree with the guy’s politics… but one thing remains as steady as the beam – man can that guy still turn a phrase!

And that beam reference? Just the clumsiest of segues into me saying that thanks to another recent hospital stay, I managed to burn through Mr. King’s latest instalment in The Dark Tower series, ‘The Wind Through The Keyhole’ in roughly 2 days.

Suffice to say it’s a fast, entertaining-as-hell read. It employs an interesting ‘story within a story’ narrative device, a framework that at its core binds it to the Dark Tower series as a whole, at least for me. Over thousands of pages, The Dark Tower (to me, at least) became as much about the nature of stories, and their importance in our lives, as it did plot or character. There’s a meta-level of spiritual awareness, storytelling skill and artistry about the books that manages to both baffle and captivate me… more than it might otherwise, because although I’ve known a handful of other King diehards, I’m yet to meet someone who has actually read the entire series!

So, faithful readers, if any of you out there have read, or are interested in reading The Dark Tower at all, hit me with a comment or two. We can discuss the Turtle, or how all things serve the beam. You can tell me about that dream you had once about a Billy Bumbler, and I’ll tell thee a tale, sai, of a mono named Blaine.

Shit…

And you wondered why no one wanted to talk to you about these books, Monkey…

Until next time, if anyone needs me I’ll be in the nerdiest Stephen King chatroom I can find, probably using the handle ‘R@ndallFlaggBEARer79’, wishing CancerAIDS (or even worse, Anti-Ka) upon any commenter that dares to disagree with me.

Cos this is the internets. And that’s how we rolls,

BPM

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “God bless you, Stephen King”

  1. Katie Says:

    I blew through that series. It was amazing. I haven’t read any of the comics, but I’m so happy there’s a new book!

    • buttonpushingmonkey Says:

      From a fan’s perspective, TWTTK (see, I’m abbreviating already) works really well, not just as a story within a story, but also emotionally and tonally for this point of the series-arc (for lack of a better description). Grab a copy, Katie!
      King’s found the voices of those characters again effortlessly, but I guess my favourite part of the entire exercise is that when we seize upon the narratives we love, be it books, TV shows, movies, etc, no matter how many installments we’re offered invariably you always finish with that sinking feeling… “no more?”
      King’s effectively called this part 4.5 of the series. And if there’s a 4.5, who’s to say whether there can’t be a 2.5? Or a 3.5?
      Ah well… there’ll be water if God wills it I suppose 🙂

  2. Mat (The Laughing Bard) Says:

    Stephen King is one of my favourite writers, and I’m sort of used to the epic size of most of his books (most recently I read ‘Under The Dome’, which is over 800, but not boring for all that). Nevertheless, the sheer scope of that series is off-putting! Though I love King, I don’t want to spend the rest of my reading-life reading only him!

    • buttonpushingmonkey Says:

      I fully understand what you’re saying – I once had a pal who LOVED King, but refused to read anything he’d written that was longer than 300 pages!
      I guess I find the DT series pretty varied, so most of them can be easily read as individual, stand-alone stories as well as one long, over-arcing narrative.

      • Mat Says:

        You can’t fully appreciate King if you can’t read anything longer than 300 pages!! That only leaves you with Misery and his short stories (which admittedly are really good) and some other stuff.
        One day I’ll get to that series I guess, but heck I haven’t even read The Stand yet!

Leave a Reply

